The Team

The PETRONAS Syntium Team is the brainchild of David Wong, who took the PETRONAS name into touring car and superbike racing in 1990 and immediately established his team as the regional pacesetters in Asia. Today, after over two decades of success, PETRONAS Syntium Team is testament to a solid record of race victories with over 100 wins.

The history of the PETRONAS Syntium Team can be traced back to 1990 when it was racing in Malaysian and Asian saloon car events under the names Team PETRONAS Mach 5 and Team PETRONAS Primax. Collaboration in 1999 with Opel Motorsport South Africa saw a rename to Team PETRONAS Syntium Opel.

In 2002, the team became known as Team PETRONAS Syntium Proton and saw its entry into the world's premier touring car series - the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC). After a three-year BTCC campaign, Team PETRONAS Syntium Proton returned to Asia in 2005 to compete in the Asian Touring Car Championship (ATCC), winning the Team Championship in 2006 before clinching both the Team and Driver Championship in 2007.

Thereafter, the team is now known as the PETRONAS Syntium Team and continued to add to the ever increasing list of awards and accolades, including the prestigious title of a five-time Super Taikyu champion, winner of the Tokachi 24 Hours, 24 Hours of Dubai class champion and a multiple Merdeka Millenium Endurance Race winner.