PETRONAS Syntium Team finishes overall 5th at BMW Sports Trophy 2011

Nobuteru Taniguchi, anchor driver for PETRONAS Syntium Team, finished overall 5th in the BMW Sports Trophy 2011. His overall first place finish in the Super Taikyu Series with PETRONAS Syntium Team, coupled with his overall first in the Super GT300 Championship, placed him 5th in the standings for the 50th BMW Sports Trophy. The BMW Sports Trophy Award Ceremony was held at the Double Cone building at Munich's BMW Welt.

Last year, Taniguchi and Masataka Yanagida were ranked joint second at the 2010 BMW Sports Awards, while rookie Imran Zaharias Shaharom was the first Malaysian to make it to the Top 20 with his 20th place. This trio was the driving force behind the PETRONAS Syntium Team's third consecutive Super Taikyu overall title in 2010.

The PETRONAS Syntium Team is no stranger to the BMW Sports Awards, with longest-serving driver of the team Fariqe Hairuman given a special award in 2007 for being the youngest Asian driver to win a major touring car championship title at the age of 24. He won the overall drivers' championship at the Asian Touring Car Championship 2007.

Launched in the 1960s, the BMW Sports Trophy is the German automobile manufacturer's efforts to provide additional incentives to teams racing BMW sports cars.